Trustee Jerry Chadwick – June Letter

JERRY CHADWICK
Trustee, Ward 22
Scarborough, East
June 6, 2013

Dear Members of School Councils in Ward 22,

As the school year winds down, I wanted to take this opportunity to write to you. Primarily, I want to thank you being a member of your school’s Council. The role of advising your Principals and being the community voice in your school is a very important one. I know, through speaking to the Principals in our ward, that they are very appreciative of your input and efforts. It is my hope that you will continue to be an advocate for your children and all of our students in the future.

I want to thank the Councils who invited me to speak at your meetings. I was able to attend meetings in many of our schools this year and to gain insight and input into many of the pertinent issues that our Board faces. I hope that, next year, you will continue to invite me to the meetings and provide feedback through emails and phone calls. I value your input and listen very carefully when deciding how to vote on specific issues.

Finally, I would like to ask for some further assistance. For the past 2 years, Ward 22 has been capably represented at the Parent Involvement Advisory Committee (PIAC) by Hilary Wollis and Nadia Heyd (alternate). I am very grateful to both of these wonderful women for the insight and energy they contributed on behalf of our schools. They also spearheaded our recent PRO grant that provided anti-bullying workshops for parents at 8 of our schools. However, their 2 year term is completed and both Nadia and Hillary have indicated that they will not be returning to the roles. I hope there are some people in the Ward who are willing to fill these positions as it is very important that the voice of Ward 22 be heard.

For more information on PIAC, you can go to this link http://www.tdsb.on.ca/_site/ViewItem.asp?siteid=91&menuid=4060&pageid=3384. You can also contact PIAC Co-Chair Jerako Biaje-Wendt 416.844.4393 for more information.

If you are interested in assuming one of these roles, please send me an email (jerry.chadwick@tdsb.on.ca) or call my office (416-397-3096).
I wish you and your families a safe and happy summer and I look forward to reconnecting with you in the new school year.

Sincerely,
Jerry Chadwick
Trustee Ward 22, TDSB

5050 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M2N 5N8 • Tel: (416) 397-3096 • Fax: (416) 397-3114

Comments are closed.